

To: Missouri Red Angus Association Members
From: Scott Bachman, President-Missouri Red Angus Association
Date: April 8, 2013
RE: Notification of Dinner and Annual Meeting – Friday, April 19 at 6:00 pm.

Consistent with the Missouri Red Angus Association Bylaws, the Board of Directors encourages your participation and involvement in the business decisions we need to make as an association. We encourage you to come and enjoy a meal and cast your vote on several items of business. Please remember that only members in good standing and present at this meeting can vote. Proxy votes are not allowed.

Election of Officers and Directors:

We have several shifts and opening for Officers and Directors. At the time of this letter, there are no multiple candidates to vote for; therefore your vote is for confirmation to elect these candidates in their proposed positions.

- Vice President Robert Felten, Lamine Valley Red Angus. The current Vice President, Jenna Sullivan is running for the Northeast Director position.
- Northeast Area Director Jeanna Sullivan, Navillus Red Angus. Jeanna is running for this position after Dennis Jacobs' term has expired.
- Northwest Area Director Scott Liebhart. Scott comes to the Missouri Red Angus Association as a new member. Scott would take Dwight Harper's position as his term is up.
- **Treasurer Dwight Harper, Brickhouse Farms**. Dwight's term as Northeast Area Director is expiring and Larry Ellison is stepping down and into retirement.
- Secretary Barb Twyman has agreed to perform these duties for one more term.

Modifications to Current By-laws:

The current Officers and Directors of the Association believe there are a number of structural changes / modifications to the current By-laws we are asking membership to consider and vote upon.

- In Article III Officers and Board Members, we are proposing the following to be modified in the By-laws:
 - Section 2 The Board of Directors shall consist of the Officers and seven (7) additional Board members. Four (4) Officers (President, Vice President, Secretary and Treasurer), four(4) Area Directors (Northeast, Northwest, Southeast and Southwest), one (1) At-

Large Director and two (2) Ex-Officio Board Members. Ex-Officio Board members are to be appointed by the President and approved by the remaining Board and are limited to one (1) year terms. One Ex-Officio Board Member must come from Missouri educators (University, Vo-Tech and/or High School Agriculture). One Ex-Officio Board position must come from the Missouri business community involved in cattle operational support. Only "producer members" in good standing and residing in the state of Missouri may serve as Officers, Directors and/or Ex-Officio Liasons.

- In Article III Officers and Board Members, we are proposing the following to be included in the By-laws:
 - Section 6 The Board of Directors are expected to actively participate in the Association's business and decision-making process. There may be a number of reasons a particular Board member cannot (or chooses not) to actively participate. The Board of Directors may vote, by a simple majority, to replace and fill vacancies for the remaining term of that office if that Officer and/or Director is no longer fulfilling the duties of that office.

The final agenda for the Annual meeting will be available at the meeting on Friday, April 19 at 6:00 pm.